

# 25TH NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL OFFICE OF THE SPEAKER

Media Contact: nnlb.communications@gmail.com

### FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

February 9, 2023

## 25th Navajo Nation Council Standing Committees select chairs and vice chairs

**WINDOW ROCK, Ariz.** – This week, each of the four Standing Committees under the 25th Navajo Nation Council convened for their first official meetings since taking office on Jan. 10 and selected the chair and vice chair for each committee. The selections were confirmed through legislations approved by each Standing Committee.

On Monday, the Law and Order Committee selected Council Delegate Eugenia Charles-Newton (Shiprock) to serve a second term as the chair, and Council Delegate Cherilyn Yazzie (Dilkon, Greasewood Springs, Indian Wells, Teesto, Whitecone) as the vice chair. In accordance with Navajo Nation law, the Law and Order Committee includes five members and is tasked with exercising legislative oversight over Navajo Nation courts, administrative legal tribunals, criminal defense, legal defense of the indigent, juvenile justice, corrections, law enforcement, and emergency management.

On Tuesday, the Budget and Finance Committee selected Council Delegate Shaandiin Parrish (Chilchinbeto, Dennehotso, Kayenta) as the chair, and Council Delegate Carl Roessel Slater (Lukachukai, Rock Point, Round Rock, Tsaile/Wheatfields, Tsé Ch' izhi) to serve as the vice chair. The Budget and Finance Committee, consisting of six members, exercises legislative authority over Navajo Nation budgets, finance, investment bonds, contracting, insurance, audits, accounting, taxes, loans, and chapter budgets.

The Resources and Development Committee met on Wednesday, and selected Council Delegate Brenda Jesus (Oak Springs, St. Michaels) to serve as chair, and Council Delegate Casey Johnson (Cameron, Coalmine Canyon, Leupp, Tolani Lake, Tsidi To ii) as the vice chair. The committee has six members and exercises legislative oversight over water, land, grazing, environment, environmental protection, cultural resources, agriculture, livestock, wildlife, roads and transportation, air transportation, communications and utilities, information technology, chapter activities, economic/community development, commerce and trade, gaming, rights-of-way, minerals, public utilities, telecommunications, and housing.

Health, Education, and Human Services Committee members selected Council Delegate Vince James (Jeddito, Cornfields, Ganado, Kin Dah Lichíí, Steamboat) to serve as chair, and Council Delegate Germaine Simonson (Black Mesa, Forest Lake, Hardrock, Pinon, Whippoorwill) as the vice chair on Wednesday. Among its authorities, the six-member committee provides legislative oversight on matters involving health, social services, education, general governmental services, human services, and ensuring compliance with employment and labor laws and policies relating to veteran services.

The full membership of each of the four Standing Committees includes:

#### Health, Education, and Human Services Committee:

- 1. Chair Vince R. James from Fort Defiance Agency
- 2. Vice Chair Germaine Simonson from Central Agency
- 3. George Tolth from Eastern Agency
- 4. Dr. Andy Nez from Fort Defiance Agency
- 5. Helena Nez Begay from Western Agency
- 6. Curtis Yanito from Northern Agency

#### **Resources and Development Committee:**

- 1. Chair Brenda Jesus from Fort Defiance Agency
- 2. Vice Chair Casey Allen Johnson from Western Agency
- 3. Danny Simpson from Eastern Agency
- 4. Shawna Ann Claw from Central Agency
- 5. Otto Tso from Western Agency
- 6. Rickie Nez from Northern Agency

#### Law and Order Committee:

- 1. Chair Eugenia Charles-Newton from Northern Agency
- 2. Vice Chair Cherilyn Yazzie from Fort Defiance Agency
- 3. Steven R. Arviso from Eastern Agency
- 4. Nathan Notah from Fort Defiance Agency
- 5. Herman M. Daniels from Western Agency

#### **Budget and Finance Committee:**

- 1. Chair Shaandiin Parrish from Western Agency
- 2. Vice Chair Carl Roessel Slater from Central Agency
- 3. Norman M. Begay from Eastern Agency
- 4. Lomardo Aseret from Fort Defiance Agency
- 5. Seth Damon from Eastern Agency
- 6. Amber Kanazbah Crotty from Northern Agency

"Congratulations to all of the newly-elected Standing Committees chairs and vice chairs. I look forward to working together with each of the Standing Committees to fulfill our duties to the Navajo people and our communities. We have many challenging tasks ahead as we work toward developing solutions and laws that empower our people and Nation," said 25<sup>th</sup> Navajo Nation Council Speaker Crystalyne Curley.

For more information regarding the meeting schedules for each Standing Committee, please visit the Navajo Nation Council's website at <a href="https://www.navajonationcouncil.org">https://www.navajonationcouncil.org</a>.

###

For the latest news from the Navajo Nation Council, please visit <a href="https://www.navajonationcouncil.org">https://www.navajonationcouncil.org</a> or search for "Navajo Nation Council" on social media.